Skip to main content

Register Now! Webinar on Children in Detention for Health Professionals

National Health Collaborative on Violence and Abuse BannerNational Health Collaborative on Violence and Abuse

 

Children in Detention: Critical Clinical, Legal, Policy, and Human Rights Issues for Health Professionals

Date: Wednesday, September 25th, 2019


Time (by time zone): 11:00 - 12:30 PM Pacific/ 12:00 - 1:30 PM Mountain/
1:00 - 2:30 PM Central/ 2:00 - 3:30 PM Eastern

 

Register for the webinar

This webinar will feature closed captioning and will be recorded.

Thousands of children seeking refuge from life-threatening danger in their home countries have been detained by U.S. immigration authorities, and in some cases, separated from their parents and caregivers.

Description:

This urgent webinar, sponsored by the National Health Collaborative on Violence and Abuse (NHCVA) and presented by colleagues from the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP), the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and Kids in Need of Defense (KIND) addresses the clinical, mental health, policy, legal, and human rights issues faced by detained migrant children and their caregivers. Particular attention will be paid to how participants can harness their own professional training and standing to become more involved in both direct service and advocacy, in order to address what many consider to be an urgent humanitarian crisis and a deliberate assault on human rights.

Speakers:

Cory Shindel, Deputy Director of Policy Kids in Need of Defense (KIND)

Tamar Magarik Haro, Senior Director, Federal and State Advocacy at American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP)

Suzan Song, MD MPH, Associate Professor of Psychiatry, Director, Division of Child, Adolescent, and Family Psychiatry, George Washington University (AACP)

Questions?

Please email NHCVA Staff at: health@futureswithoutviolence.org

Attachments

Images (1)
  • National Health Collaborative on Violence and Abuse Banner

Add Comment

Comments (0)

Post
Copyright ยฉ 2020, ACEsConnection. All rights reserved.
×
×
×
×
Link copied to your clipboard.
×