Skip to main content

Next "A Better Normal" community discussion series: April 14, 2020, trauma-informed housing

 

Andy Marlette

This week, we're hosting 'A Better Normal' discussions: on Tuesday, April 14; and Thursday, April 16, 2020....12 pm PT/ 1 pm MT/ 2 pm CT/ 3 pm ET. 

Tuesday, April 14, 2020

Margaret Stagmeier, Atlanta real estate developer and social entrepreneur, has developed an affordable housing model that decreases income inequality and improves failing schools. Her nonprofits — EduHousing and Star-C — purchase blighted apartment complexes located next to failing elementary schools, and provide free wrap-around services to the people who move into them. The result is that schools next to the formerly blighted properties raise their performance rankings from being among the worst performing schools in the state. One such school went from being among the bottom in the state to being in the 79th percentile.  

Stagmeier, Audrea Reese, executive director of Star-C, and Kristin Hemingway, after-school director at one of the Star-C properties, will talk with ACEs Connection Community Facilitator Carey Sipp about the program and answer our questions about how it has helped families, students, schools, and the community in the five years since it was created in 2015.

Thursday, April 16, 2020

Lara Kain, ACEs In Education community manager, will lead a discussion with James Moffett, Jr., JM Educational Consulting and incoming principal of Faris Elementary in Hutchinson, KS; Emily Read Daniels, M.Ed., MBA, NCC, SEP in training, founder of HERE this NOW; and Jim Sporleder, Jim Sporleder Consulting, former principal of Lincoln High School in Walla Walla, WA, featured in Paper Tigers. They'll be discussing the future of education in light of the school closings due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Almost overnight what schooling looks like has been drastically altered. We have no more standardized tests this year and many schools have altered grading practices or did away with them altogether. What does "learning" mean now and how it is practiced? There's more attention on mental health, and connection is emphasized. Seizing this opportunity to both learn from the past and our current experience, what do we wish we could change when we return to our buildings? If we are to collectively imagine a 'better normal' for the future of schooling, what might we dream?

_______________________

You are invited to a Zoom meeting.
When: Apr 14, 2020 12:00 PM Pacific Time (US and Canada)Register in advance for this meeting:
https://zoom.us/meeting/register/tJcudemhpj0qHd1PA9a4UPEH-sD3c1zmE-m-

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.

Add Comment

Comments (0)

Copyright © 2020, ACEsConnection. All rights reserved.
×
×
×
×
Link copied to your clipboard.
×