Skip to main content

ACEsConnectionCommunitiesMichigan ACEs Action (MI)

Michigan ACEs Action (MI)

Healthy and resilient kids, families, and communities are the foundation for a flourishing, vibrant region. We are dedicated to creating a trauma-informed Michigan and working together across sectors to share our efforts in building resilience and reducing toxic stress for Michigan children and families.

How Pimps Select Their Victims (Sex Trafficking)

Online Webinar

Webinar: How Pimps Select Their Victims
Wednesday, July 22, 2015 @ 12:30PM Mountain
(2:30PM Eastern, 1:30PM Central, 11:30AM Pacific, 10:30AM Alaska)

This webinar will address intimate partner sex trafficking, particularly how pimps select their victims.  The focus will be on predator behavior, not victim risk factors.

Register for Webinar

Presented by:
Christine Stark (Cherokee/Anishinaabe) is an award winning author, speaker, organizer, and visual artist. Her articles have been published in numerous journals and anthologies, including Prostitution, Trafficking, and Traumatic Stress and others. Currently, she is writing a report titled β€œGathering Our Stories: the Prostitution and Trafficking of Native Women on the Duluth Ships” based upon interviews she conducted with Native women and men.

 

Dr. Alexandra (Sandi) Pierce is an applied sociologist of Seneca and European descent. A long-time survivor of sex trafficking, she is the principal investigator and author of Shattered Hearts, the first research report on the commercial sexual exploitation of American Indian girls and women ever published in the United States. Dr. Pierce recently partnered with the Lauren Martin Center at the University of Minnesota’s University Outreach-Engagement Center to produce a report on the overall market structure of juvenile sex trafficking in Minneapolis, titled Mapping the Market. She is also an active member of a national coalition of sex trafficking survivors.

 

Other webinars in this series: Survivor Centered Webinar Series on Sex Trafficking of Native Women

 

1st of Series: Download Slides | View Recording

Trauma-Informed Approaches for Supporting Domestic Trafficking Survivors
This webinar lays the foundation for understanding sex trafficking of Native women and survivor centered responses developed by three experts in the field.

 

2nd of Series:  Registration
How Pimps Select Their Victims
Wednesday, July 22, 2015 @ 12:30PM Mountain (2:30PM Eastern, 1:30PM Central, 11:30AM Pacific, 10:30AM Alaska)
This webinar will address intimate partner sex trafficking, particularly how pimps select their victims.  The focus will be on predator behavior, not victim risk factors.

 

3rd of Series:  Registration
Breaking Process and Trauma Bond
Monday, August 24, @ 12:30PM Mountain (2:30PM Eastern, 1:30PM Central, 11:30AM Pacific, 10:30AM Alaska)
Violence, the trauma bond, and trauma-centered responses.

 

4th of Series:  Registration
Normalizations of DV to Turning Your Wife/Girlfriend Into A Prostitute
Wednesday, September 30, 2015 @ 12:30PM Mountain (2:30PM Eastern, 1:30PM Central, 11:30AM Pacific, 10:30AM Alaska)


Pornography and intimate partner violence; survivor descriptions of long-term harms; public refusal/inability to recognize the severity of trauma (Pornography telling men their wives and girlfriends can be used as prostitutes).

 

 

Who Is Attending

Add Comment

Comments (0)

Copyright Β© 2020, ACEsConnection. All rights reserved.
×
×
×
×
Link copied to your clipboard.
×