That is a fantastic idea! It is so important for this information to be shared far and wide, to audiences who may not be familiar with it as you mentioned having encountered. It is certainly a book I would read!
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .